



Special Issue: Provision and Pricing of Liquidity Insurance

Introduction

Douglas Gale, Rafael Repullo, Til Schuermann, and Frank Smets

Interbank Lending, Credit-Risk Premia, and Collateral Florian Heider and Marie Hoerova Discussant: Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden

Liquidity, Moral Hazard, and Interbank Market Collapse Enisse Kharroubi and Edouard Vidon

Discussant: Tano Santos

Credit, Asset Prices, and Financial Stress Miroslav Misina and Greg Tkacz

Discussant: Stijn Claessens

Commentary: Prices and Quantities in the Monetary Policy

Transmission Mechanism

Tobias Adrian and Hyun Song Shin

Strategic Trading in Multiple Assets and the Effects on Market Volatility

Chenghuan Sean Chu, Andreas Lehnert, and

Wayne Passmore Discussant: Bruce Carlin

Commentary: When Everyone Runs for the Exit

Lasse Pedersen



Volume 5, Number 4 December 2009

Special Issue: Provision and Pricing of Liquidity Insurance

Introduction Douglas Gale, Rafael Repullo, Til Schuermann, and Frank Smets	1
Interbank Lending, Credit-Risk Premia, and Collateral Florian Heider and Marie Hoerova	5
Discussion: Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden	45
Liquidity, Moral Hazard, and Interbank Market Collapse	51
Enisse Kharroubi and Edouard Vidon Discussion: Tano Santos	87
Credit, Asset Prices, and Financial Stress Miroslav Misina and Greg Tkacz	95
Discussion: Stijn Claessens	123
Commentary: Prices and Quantities in the Monetary Policy Transmission Mechanism Tobias Adrian and Hyun Song Shin	131
Strategic Trading in Multiple Assets and the Effects on Market Volatility Chenghuan Sean Chu, Andreas Lehnert,	143
and Wayne Passmore	
Discussion: Bruce Carlin	173
Commentary: When Everyone Runs for the Exit Lasse Pedersen	177

The contents of this journal, together with additional materials provided by article authors, are available without charge at www.ijcb.org.

Copyright © 2009 by the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking. All rights reserved. Brief excerpts may be reproduced or translated provided the source is cited. Consult www.ijcb.org for further information.

The International Journal of Central Banking is published quarterly (ISSN: 1815-4654). Online access to the publication is available free of charge at www.ijcb.org. Individual print subscriptions are available at an annual rate of \$100 (USD).

Print subscription orders may be placed online at www.ijcb.org, by phone (+49 69 1344 7623), via fax (+49 69 1344 8553), or by e-mail (editor@ijcb.org).

Renewals, claims, address changes, and requests for permission to reprint material from this journal should be addressed to:

International Journal of Central Banking DG Research European Central Bank Postfach 16 03 19 D-60066 Frankfurt Germany

Phone: +49 69 1344 7623 Fax: +49 69 1344 6575 E-mail: editor@ijcb.org

The views expressed in this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking or any of its members.

ISSN: 1815-4654

International Journal of Central Banking

Board of Directors

Chairman

Charles Bean, Bank of England

Board Members

Abdulrahman Al-Hamidy, Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency
David E. Altig, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Jan Marc Berk, The Nederlandsche Bank Claudio Borio, Bank for International Settlements Mohamed Tahar Bouhouche, Bank of Algeria Todd Clark, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

Francisco G. Dakila Jr., Central Bank of the Philippines
Malcolm Edey, Reserve Bank of Australia
Khor Hoe Ee, Monetary Authority of Singapore

Karnit Flug, Bank of Israel Manuel Ramos Francia, Bank of Mexico Jeffrey C. Fuhrer, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Pablo Garcia, Central Bank of Chile Dong He, Hong Kong Monetary Authority Heinz Herrmann, Deutsche Bundesbank

Tor Jacobson, Sveriges Riksbank Hugo Frey Jensen, National Bank of Denmark

Juan F. Jimeno, Bank of Spain Ali Hakan Kara, Central Bank of Turkey Ulrich Kohli, Swiss National Bank Donald Kohn, Federal Reserve Board

Ana Leal, Bank of Portugal Mario Mesquita, Central Bank of Brazil Loretta J. Mester, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

John McDermott, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Rakesh Mohan, Reserve Bank of India

Vyacheslav Morgunov, Central Bank of Russian Federation John Murray, Bank of Canada Tom O'Connell, Central Bank of Ireland Fabio Panetta, Bank of Italy

Christian Pfister, Bank of France Cristian Popa, National Bank of Romania Robert H. Rasche, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Ivan Ribnikar, Bank of Slovenia Harvey Rosenblum, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Mark Schweitzer, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Arnor Sighvatsson, Central Bank of Iceland Jan Smets, National Bank of Belgium Shigenori Shiratsuka, Bank of Japan Daniel Sullivan, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Julia Tarkka, Bank of Finland George Tavlas, Bank of Greece Joseph Tracy, Federal Reserve Bank of New York Dobieslaw Tymoczko, National Bank of Poland Birger Vikøren, Norges Bank John Weinberg, Federal Reserve Bank

of Richmond John C. Williams, Federal Reserve Bank of

San Francisco WEI Xin, People's Bank of China

Editorial Board

Managing Editor

Frank Smets European Central Bank

Co-editors

Andrew Levin

Giancarlo Corsetti European University Institute Douglas Gale

New York University

Federal Reserve Board Rafael Repullo CEMFI Associate Editors Til Schuermann Federal Reserve Bank of New York Carl E. Walsh University of California

Patrick Bolton Jordi Galí University of Columbia Centre de Recerca en Economia Bank for International

Michael D. Bordo Rutgers University Mark Carey

Federal Reserve Board Pierre Collin-Dufresne University of Columbia

Guy Debelle Reserve Bank of Australia

Michael B. Devereux University of British Columbia Douglas W. Diamond

University of Chicago Graduate School of Business Francis Diebold

University of Pennsylvania

Michael Dotsey Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Darrell Duffie Stanford University Internacional (CREI) Marvin Goodfriend Carnegie Mellon University Charles A.E. Goodhart London School of Economics Michael B. Gordy Federal Reserve Board Luigi Guiso European University Institute Andrew G. Haldane Bank of England

Takatoshi Ito University of Tokyo David Lando

Copenhagen Business School Philip Lane

Trinity College Dublin Francesco Lippi University of Sassari Carmen M. Reinhart University of Maryland Lars E.O. Svensson Sveriges Riksbank Jürgen von Hagen

Eli M. Remolona

London Business School

Jean-Charles Rochet

Andrew K. Rose

University of Toulouse

Klaus Schmidt-Hebbel

University of California,

Organisation for Economic

Co-operation and Development

Hélène Rev

Berkeley

(OECD)

University of Bonn Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden University of Mannheim Tsutomu Watanabe Hitotsubashi University

Advisory Board

Franklin Allen The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania Charles Goodhart London School of Economics Hyun Shin Princeton University Kazuo Ueda University of Tokyo

Michael Woodford Columbia University John Taylor Stanford University