



Special Issue: The Real and Financial Effects of Basel III

Introduction
Douglas Gale, Rafael Repullo, and Frank Smets

A Pigovian Approach to Liquidity Regulation Enrico Perotti and Javier Suarez Discussion: Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden

Macroeconomic Propagation under Different Regulatory Regimes: Evidence from an Estimated DSGE Model for the Euro Area

Matthieu Darracq Pariès, Christoffer Kok Sørensen, and Diego Rodriguez-Palenzuela Discussion: Andrew Powell

Capital Regulation and Tail Risk

Enrico Perotti, Lev Ratnovski, and Razvan Vlahu
Discussion: Andrew Winton

Commentary: The Capital Conundrum Richard J. Herring

Anchoring Countercyclical Capital Buffers: The Role of Credit Aggregates

Mathias Drehmann, Claudio Borio, and Kostas Tsatsaronis Discussion: Òscar Jordà

The Unreliability of Credit-to-GDP Ratio Gaps in Real Time: Implications for Countercyclical Capital Buffers
Rochelle M. Edge and Ralf R. Meisenzahl
Discussion: Simon van Norden



Volume 7, Number 4 December 2011

# Special Issue: The Real and Financial Effects of Basel III

Introduction  Douglas Gale, Rafael Repullo, and Frank Smets	1
A Pigovian Approach to Liquidity Regulation  Enrico Perotti and Javier Suarez	3
Discussion: Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden	43
Macroeconomic Propagation under Different Regulatory Regimes: Evidence from an Estimated DSGE Model for the Euro Area	49
Matthieu Darracq Pariès, Christoffer Kok Sørensen, and Diego Rodriguez-Palenzuela	
Discussion: Andrew Powell	115
Capital Regulation and Tail Risk  Enrico Perotti, Lev Ratnovski, and Razvan Vlahu	123
Discussion: Andrew Winton	165
The Capital Conundrum Richard J. Herring	171
Anchoring Countercyclical Capital Buffers: The Role of Credit Aggregates	189
Mathias Drehmann, Claudio Borio, and Kostas Tsatsaronis Discussion: Òscar Jordà	241
The Unreliability of Credit-to-GDP Ratio Gaps in Real Time: Implications for Countercyclical Capital Buffers Rochelle M. Edge and Ralf R. Meisenzahl	261
Discussion: Simon van Norden	299

The contents of this journal, together with additional materials provided by article authors, are available without charge at www.ijcb.org.

Copyright © 2011 by the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking. All rights reserved. Brief excerpts may be reproduced or translated provided the source is cited. Consult www.ijcb.org for further information.

The International Journal of Central Banking is published quarterly (ISSN: 1815-4654). Online access to the publication is available free of charge at www.ijcb.org. Individual print subscriptions are available at an annual rate of \$100 (USD).

Print subscription orders may be placed by phone (001 415 974 2035), via fax (001 415 974 2168), or by e-mail (editor@ijcb.org).

Renewals, claims, address changes, and requests for permission to reprint material from this journal should be addressed to:

International Journal of Central Banking Economic Research Department Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco 101 Market Street San Francisco, CA 94105 USA

Phone: 001 415 974 2035 Fax: 001 415 974 2168 E-mail: editor@ijcb.org

The views expressed in this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking or any of its members.

ISSN: 1815-4654

# International Journal of Central Banking

#### Board of Directors

#### Chairman

John Murray, Bank of Canada

### Board Members

Q. Farooq Akram, Norges Bank Abdulrahman Al-Hamidy, Saudi Arabian

Monetary Agency

David E. Altig, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Carlos Hamilton Vasconcelos Araujo, Central Bank of Brazil

Jan Marc Berk, The Nederlandsche Bank Claudio Borio, Bank for International Settlements

Mohamed Tahar Bouhouche, Bank of Algeria Laurent Clerc, Bank of France

Francisco G. Dakila Jr., Central Bank of the Philippines

Spencer Dale, Bank of England

Jean-Pierre Danthine, Swiss National Bank William English, Federal Reserve Board Jiang Feng, People's Bank of China Manuel Ramos Francia, Bank of Mexico Jeffrey C. Fuhrer, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Niels Lynggård Hansen, National Bank of Denmark

Dong He, Hong Kong Monetary Authority Luis Óscar Herrera, Central Bank of Chile Heinz Herrmann, Deutsche Bundesbank Tor Jacobson, Sveriges Riksbank

Juan F. Jimeno, Bank of Spain

George A. Kahn, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City Ali Hakan Kara, Central Bank of Turkey

Ana Christina Leal, Bank of Portugal Philip Lowe, Reserve Bank of Australia

Choy Keen Meng, Monetary Authority of Singapore

Loretta J. Mester, Federal Reserve Bank

of Philadelphia

John McDermott, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Maurice McGuire, Central Bank of Ireland Deepak Mohanty, Reserve Bank of India Vyacheslav Morgunov, Central Bank of Russian Federation

Edward Offenbacher, Bank of Israel

Fabio Panetta, Bank of Italy

Thórarinn G. Pétursson, Central Bank of Iceland Cristian Popa, National Bank of Romania Ivan Ribnikar, Bank of Slovenia

Harvey Rosenblum, Federal Reserve Bank

of Dallas Mark Schweitzer, Federal Reserve Bank

of Cleveland Frank Smets, European Central Bank

Jan Smets, National Bank of Belgium Daniel Sullivan, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Altin Tanku, Bank of Albania

Juha Tarkka, Bank of Finland George Tavlas, Bank of Greece Joseph Tracy, Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Dobieslaw Tymoczko, National Bank of Poland Christopher Waller, Federal Reserve Bank

of St. Louis John Weinberg, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Kei-Mu Yi. Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis Tomoo Yoshida, Bank of Japan

# Editorial Board

#### Managing Editor

John C. Williams Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Giancarlo Corsetti European University Institute

Douglas Gale New York University Harrison Hong Princeton University

Andrew Levin Federal Reserve Board Rafael Repullo CEMEL

Eli M. Remolona

Settlements

Hélène Rey

Berkeley

(OECD)

Bank for International

London Business School

Jean-Charles Rochet

Andrew K. Rose

University of Toulouse

Klaus Schmidt-Hebbel Organisation for Economic

Lars E.O. Svensson

Sveriges Riksbank

Jürgen von Hagen

University of Bonn

Tsutomu Watanabe

University of California,

Co-operation and Development

Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden

University of Mannheim

Hitotsubashi University

Carl E. Walsh University of California

# Associate Editors

Patrick Bolton Jordi Galí

University of Columbia Michael D. Bordo Rutgers University

Mark Carev

Federal Reserve Board Pierre Collin-Dufresne

University of Columbia Guy Debelle

Reserve Bank of Australia

Michael B. Devereux

University of British Columbia

Douglas W. Diamond

University of Chicago Graduate School of Business

Francis Diebold

University of Pennsylvania

Michael Dotsey

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Darrell Duffie Stanford University Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional (CREI) Marvin Goodfriend

Carnegie Mellon University

Michael B. Gordy

Federal Reserve Board Luigi Guiso

European University Institute Andrew G. Haldane

Bank of England Takatoshi Ito

University of Tokyo

David Lando

Copenhagen Business School Philip Lane

Trinity College Dublin Francesco Lippi

University of Sassari Carmen M. Reinhart

University of Maryland

# Advisory Board

Franklin Allen Hyun Shin The Wharton School of the Princeton University University of Pennsylvania Kazuo Ueda

Charles Goodhart University of Tokyo London School of Economics

Michael Woodford Columbia University

John Taylor Stanford University