L CB

> INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF CENTRAL BANKING Volume 17, Number 5 December 2021

INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF CENTRAL BANKING

Bank Lending Standards, Loan Demand, and the Macroeconomy: Evidence from the Korean Bank Loan Officer Survey Sangyup Choi

Ethics, Culture, and Higher Purpose in Banking: Post-Crisis Governance Developments *Anjan V. Thakor*

The Power of Forward Guidance and the Fiscal Theory of the Price Level *Nigel McClung*

Systemic Bank Risk and Monetary Policy Ester Faia and Sören Karau

"Leaning against the Wind," Macroprudential Policy, and the Financial Cycle

Thore Kockerols and Christoffer Kok

Monetary Policy and the Top 1%: Evidence from a Century of Modern Economic History Mehdi El Herradi and Aurélien Leroy

Monetary Normalizations and Consumer Credit: Evidence from Fed Liftoff and Online Lending *Christoph Bertsch, Isaiah Hull, and Xin Zhang*

Real-Time Forecasting and Scenario Analysis Using a Large Mixed-Frequency Bayesian VAR Michael W. McCracken, Michael T. Owyang, and Tatevik Sekhposyan

International Journal of Central Banking

Volume 17, Number 5 December 2021 Bank Lending Standards, Loan Demand, and the Macroeconomy: 1 Evidence from the Korean Bank Loan Officer Survey Sangyup Choi Ethics, Culture, and Higher Purpose in Banking: Post-Crisis 47Governance Developments Anjan V. Thakor The Power of Forward Guidance and the Fiscal Theory 79 of the Price Level Nigel McClung Systemic Bank Risk and Monetary Policy 137Ester Faia and Sören Karau "Leaning against the Wind," Macroprudential Policy, and the 177Financial Cycle Thore Kockerols and Christoffer Kok Monetary Policy and the Top 1%: Evidence from a Century of 237Modern Economic History Mehdi El Herradi and Aurélien Leroy Monetary Normalizations and Consumer Credit: Evidence from 279Fed Liftoff and Online Lending Christoph Bertsch, Isaiah Hull, and Xin Zhang Real-Time Forecasting and Scenario Analysis Using a Large 327 Mixed-Frequency Bayesian VAR Michael W. McCracken, Michael T. Owyang, and Tatevik Sekhposyan

Copyright © 2021 by the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking. All rights reserved. Brief excerpts may be reproduced or translated provided the source is cited. Consult www.ijcb.org for further information.

The International Journal of Central Banking is published quarterly (ISSN: 1815-4654). Online access to the publication is available free of charge at **www.ijcb.org**. Changes to hard copy subscriptions and orders should be placed by e-mail at editor@ijcb.org.

Renewals, claims, address changes, and requests for permission to reprint material from this journal should be addressed to:

International Journal of Central Banking HS08.20 European Central Bank Sonnemannstr. 22 D-60640 Frankfurt am Main Germany Phone: +4969134495894

E-mail: editor@ijcb.org

The views expressed in this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking or any of its members.

International Journal of Central Banking

Board of Directors

Chairman Richard Clarida. Federal Reserve Board

Board Members

Elias Albagli, Central Bank of Chile Ahmed Alkholifey, Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority David E. Altig, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Kartik Athreya, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond Jan Marc Berk, The Nederlandsche Bank Claudio Borio, Bank for International Settlements Jan Bruha, Czech National Bank Paul Castillo, Central Reserve Bank of Peru Lillian Cheung, Hong Kong Monetary Authority Laurent Clerc, Bank of France Andrew Colquhoun, Monetary Authority of Sinaapore Jose Gabriel Cuadra Garcia, Bank of Mexico Francisco G. Dakila Jr., Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Michael Dotsey, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia Luci Ellis, Reserve Bank of Australia Rosthom Fadli, Bank of Algeria Eugenio Gaiotti, Banca d'Italia Carlos Gariga, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Joseph Gruber, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City Yong Ha, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Philipp Hartmann, European Central Bank Jonathan Heathcote, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis Beverly Hirtle, Federal Reserve Bank of New York Elena Iorga, National Bank of Romania Esa Jokivuolle, Bank of Finland Signe Krogstrup, Danmarks Nationalbank Michael Kumhof, Bank of England

Ana Christina Leal, Bank of Portugal

Carlos Lenz, Swiss National Bank Ye Liu, People's Bank of China Ken Matsushita, Bank of Japan Andre Minella, Central Bank of Brazil Emanuel Mönch, Deutsche Bundesbank Gerard O'Reilly, Central Bank of Ireland Eva Ortega, Bank of Spain Michael D. Patra, Reserve Bank of India Anna Paulson, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago Thórarinn G. Pétursson, Central Bank of Iceland Trevor Reeve, Federal Reserve Board Sigal Ribon, Bank of Israel Kasper Roszbach, Norges Bank Glenn Rudebusch, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Krislert Samphantharak, Bank of Thailand Çağrı Sarıkaya, Central Bank of Turkey Lawrence Schembri, Bank of Canada Woon Shin, Bank of Korea Ulf Söderström, Sveriges Riksbank Ellis Tallman, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland George Tavlas, Bank of Greece Geoff Tootell, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston Dobieslaw Tymoczko, National Bank of Poland Hernando Vargas Herrera, Banco de la República Rafael Wouters, National Bank of Belgium Mine Yücel, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Ksenia Yudaeva, Central Bank of the Russian Federation

Keith Kuester

Business

University of Bonn

University of Zurich

Elena Loutskina UVA Darden School of

Steven Ongena

Editorial Board

Managing Editor

Luc Laeven European Central Bank

Co-editors

Linda S. Goldberg Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Òscar Jordà Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Sharon Kozicki Bank of Canada

Associate Editors

Darrell Duffie Stanford University Jordi Galí Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional (CREI) Marvin Goodfriend Carnegie Mellon University Michael B. Gordy Federal Reserve Board Luigi Guiso Einaudi Institute Andrew G. Haldane Bank of England Takatoshi Ito Columbia University David Lando Copenhagen Business School Philip Lane European Central Bank

Advisory Board

Hyun Song Shin Bank for International Settlements John Taylor Stanford University

Francesco Lippi LUISS University Carmen M. Reinhart Harvard Kennedy School Hélène Rey London Business School Jean-Charles Rochet University of Zurich Andrew K. Rose University of California, Berkelev Lars E.O. Svensson Stockholm School of Economics Jürgen von Hagen University of Bonn Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden University of Mannheim Tsutomu Watanabe

Kazuo Ueda University of Tokyo Carl E. Walsh University of California Michael Woodford Columbia University

University of Tokyo

University of Mannheim Tobias Adrian International Monetary Fund Boragan Aruoba University of Maryland Huberto Ennis Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Klaus Adam

Patrick Bolton Columbia University Michael D. Bordo Rutgers University Mark Carey Federal Reserve Board Pierre Collin-Dufresne École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne Guy Debelle Reserve Bank of Australia Douglas W. Diamond University of Chicago Graduate School of Business Francis Diebold University of Pennsylvania Michael Dotsey Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Franklin Allen Imperial College London Charles Goodhart London School of Economics