



Optimal Inflation Rates in a Non-linear New Keynesian Model: The Case of Japan and the United States Tomohide Mineyama, Wataru Hirata, and Kenji Nishizaki

Why So Low for So Long? A Long-Term View of Real Interest Rates

Claudio Borio, Piti Disyatat, Mikael Juselius, and Phurichai Rungcharoenkitkul

De jure Benchmark Bonds Eli Remolona and James Yetman

Credit Shocks and Allocative Efficiency during a Financial Crisis Andrea Linarello, Andrea Petrella, and Enrico Sette

Monetary Policy and Regional House-Price Appreciation Daniel Cooper, María José Luengo-Prado, and Giovanni P. Olivei

The Reliability of Equilibrium Exchange Rate Models: A Forecasting Perspective

Michele Ca' Zorzi, Adam Cap, Andrej Mijakovic, and Michał Rubaszek

Confidence Cycles and Liquidity Hoarding Volha Audzei

The Real Effects of Credit Line Drawdowns Jose M. Berrospide and Ralf R. Meisenzahl



Volume 18, Number 3 September 2022

Optimal Inflation Rates in a Non-linear New Keynesian Model: The Case of Japan and the United States Tomohide Mineyama, Wataru Hirata, and Kenji Nishizaki	1
Why So Low for So Long? A Long-Term View of Real Interest Rates Claudio Borio, Piti Disyatat, Mikael Juselius, and Phurichai Rungcharoenkitkul	47
De jure Benchmark Bonds Eli Remolona and James Yetman	89
Credit Shocks and Allocative Efficiency during a Financial Crisis Andrea Linarello, Andrea Petrella, and Enrico Sette	125
Monetary Policy and Regional House-Price Appreciation Daniel Cooper, María José Luengo-Prado, and Giovanni P. Olivei	173
The Reliability of Equilibrium Exchange Rate Models: A Forecasting Perspective Michele Ca' Zorzi, Adam Cap, Andrej Mijakovic, and Michal Rubaszek	229
Confidence Cycles and Liquidity Hoarding $Volha\ Audzei$	281
The Real Effects of Credit Line Drawdowns Jose M. Berrospide and Ralf R. Meisenzahl	321

The contents of this journal, together with additional materials provided by article authors, are available without charge at www.ijcb.org.

Copyright © 2022 by the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking. All rights reserved. Brief excerpts may be reproduced or translated provided the source is cited. Consult www.ijcb.org for further information.

The International Journal of Central Banking is published quarterly

at www.ijcb.org. Changes to hard copy subscriptions and orders should be placed by

Renewals, claims, address changes, and requests for permission to reprint material

The views expressed in this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking or any of its members.

(ISSN: 1815-4654). Online access to the publication is available free of charge

e-mail at editor@ijcb.org.

from this journal should be addressed to:

International Journal of Central Banking

Printing & Fulfillment K1-120 Federal Reserve Board Washington, DC 20551 Phone: 202-452-3425 Fax: 202-728-5886 E-mail: editor@ijcb.org

ISSN: 1815-4654

International Journal of Central Banking

Board of Directors

Chairman

Ignazio Visco, Banca d'Italia

Board Members

Elias Albagli, Central Bank of Chile Salah Alsavaary, Saudi Central Bank David E. Altig, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Sergio Nicoletti Altimari, Banca d'Italia Kartik Athreya, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond Jan Marc Berk, The Nederlandsche Bank Claudio Borio, Bank for International Settlements Jan Bruha, Czech National Bank Paul Castillo, Central Reserve Bank of Peru Lillian Cheung, Hong Kong Monetary Authority Laurent Clerc, Bank of France Andrew Colquhoun, Monetary Authority of Singapore

Jose Gabriel Cuadra Garcia, Bank of Mexico Francisco G. Dakila Jr., Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Michael Dotsey, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia Luci Ellis, Reserve Bank of Australia Rosthom Fadli, Bank of Algeria

Carlos Garriga, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Joseph Gruber, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City Yuong Ha, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Philipp Hartmann, European Central Bank Jonathan Heathcote, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Beverly Hirtle, Federal Reserve Bank of New York Elena Iorga, National Bank of Romania Esa Jokivuolle, Bank of Finland Signe Krogstrup, Danmarks Nationalbank Michael Kumhof, Bank of England

Sylvain Leduc, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Carlos Lenz, Swiss National Bank Ye Liu, People's Bank of China Andre Minella, Central Bank of Brazil Gerard O'Reilly, Central Bank of Ireland Eva Ortega, Bank of Spain Yang Su Park, Bank of Korea Michael D. Patra, Reserve Bank of India Anna Paulson, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Thórarinn G. Pétursson, Central Bank of

Ana Cristina Leal, Bank of Portugal

Trevor Reeve, Federal Reserve Board Sigal Ribon, Bank of Israel Kasper Roszbach, Norges Bank Krislert Samphantharak, Bank of Thailand Çağrı Sarıkaya, Central Bank of Turkey Lawrence Schembri, Bank of Canada Christian Schumacher, Deutsche Bundesbank Ulf Söderström, Sveriges Riksbank Yutaka Soejima, Bank of Japan Ellis Tallman, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland George Tavlas, Bank of Greece Geoffrey Tootell, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston Dobieslaw Tymoczko, National Bank of Poland Hernando Vargas Herrera, Banco de la República

Rafael Wouters, National Bank of Belgium Mine Yücel, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Editorial Board

Managing Editor

Christopher J. Waller Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Iceland

Co-editors

Klaus Adam University of Mannheim

Tobias Adrian International Monetary Fund

Huberto Ennis Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Refet S. Gürkaynak Bilkent University

Òscar Jordà Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Keith Kuester University of Bonn Elena Loutskina UVA Darden School of

Business

Darrell Duffie

Robin L. Lumsdaine Kogod School of Business, American University Fernanda Nechio Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Steven Ongena University of Zurich

Associate Editors

Patrick Bolton Columbia University Michael D. Bordo Rutgers University Mark Carey

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Pierre Collin-Dufresne École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Guy Debelle Reserve Bank of Australia Douglas W. Diamond University of Chicago Graduate School of Business

Francis Diebold University of Pennsylvania

Michael Dotsey Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia

Franklin Allen Imperial College London Charles Goodhart London School of Economics Stanford University Jordi Galí Centre de Recerca en Economia London Business School Internacional (CREI) Michael B. Gordy Federal Reserve Board Luigi Guiso Einaudi Institute Andrew G. Haldane Bank of England Takatoshi Ito Columbia University David Lando

Copenhagen Business School Philip Lane European Central Bank

Francesco Lippi LUISS University

Advisory Board

Hyun-Song Shin Bank for International Settlements John Taylor Stanford University

Carmen M. Reinhart Harvard Kennedy School Hélène Rey Jean-Charles Rochet Université de Genève Andrew K. Rose University of California. Berkeley Lars E.O. Svensson Stockholm School of Economics Jürgen von Hagen University of Bonn Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden University of Mannheim Tsutomu Watanabe University of Tokyo

Kazuo Ueda University of Tokyo Carl E Walsh University of California Michael Woodford Columbia University